No Place Like It

Oh Home.

Nothing like that feeling that washes over you when you go back to where you came from, it’s like a sigh of relief with a tinge of regret.  While I was in DC I had a chat with a fellow Islander that’s also moved around and done a lot of traveling, we exchanged the knowing head nod about Whidbey.  We talked about how there’s always a bit of an urge to go back there especially since we both have a bit of uneasiness about where we are now, which changes pretty frequently.

“If a place was like something you wore, Whidbey would be sweat pants.  It’s so comfortable and it’s nice to wear them every once and a while but you know I just can’t wear them all the time.”

Visiting is so different, you already know a few months down the road you’ll find yourself with longing for this place again.  I try to soak it up, especially in the summer which is the best time for visits.  I try to go night swmming at least once, hang out with my family as much as I can, and spend a little quality time with the place I never remember not knowing.

This visit was short, too short, but I got a chance to do a hike with my Mom, take Liam to swim class, pet the dogs, help with a Brunch my Mom put together to celebrate Annexea graduating from 8th grade/my parents anniversary, get ridiculously sun burned with Katya and Ashley on Double Bluff, and spend a night in Seattle with Miss Jessica.

After swapping out some clothes and sighing at all my things in boxes I packed my bag again and headed for New York.

0 Responses to “No Place Like It”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment