The Desert

dsc_0374

dsc_0368

After our sleepless night on the bus the surreal quality of the desert was only intensified.  We freshened up and sat drinking tea, playing more Rummy, and taking it all in.

dsc_0379

Then it was time to ride our camels into the desert.  I had a lot of trouble getting my turban on but, my Sister it turns out was quite the pro.

dsc_0387

1worldsarongs_2051_125201106

dsc_0455

That night we ate tagine and listened to the guides play drums and sing.  After the other guests went to bed we wondered out into the dunes to lay on the sand, watch the occasional night traveler (when the moon is full or close to full they go in the night to avoid the wind and heat of the day), and tell/translate jokes using our common knowledge of a little French, Spanish, and Italian mixed with English.

dsc_0419

Our tent complete with candle surrounded by rugs and sticks.

dsc_0445

Our guide Ibrahim posing proudly with one of the camels, he was explaining to us how important it is to respect and be kind to them which was nice to hear.

dsc_0437

dsc_0474

In every photo I have of this camel he looks like he’s flashing his best smile, really he’s chewing his cud but we’ll pretend.

dsc_0480

The photo just doesn’t do it justice.  I’m not a big fan of super hot climates and sandy beaches (more of a mountains and lakes kind of girl) but I was blown away by how wonderful I felt there.  It was disorienting in a really calming way.

dsc_0501

The next day we didn’t really have anything planned, and since we didn’t have a car (like most of the Spaniards there) we just tried to be comfortable with just relaxing.  We played a lot of cards, read, drank a lot of mint tea, and while my Sister napped I had a little conversation with my camera.

dsc_0514

dsc_0515

dsc_0516

dsc_0536

Scarab and camomile from a walk in the dunes.

As it turns out most of the action happens in the evening, after enjoying another wonderful dinner these men of the Nowa tribe of Sudan came to play.  After a while the staff joined in and then everyone was on their feet.  After dancing and jumping for hours Sister and I cartwheeled out to our tent, grabbed a blanket and enjoyed a gorgeous view of the stars. We might have slept out there if our star gazing hadn’t been interupted by some of the staff guys who kept asking if they could visit us in America.  When I look back on it I’m sure I’ll omit the cheesey lines and just remember the view but, if you’re going to visit don’t expect all peace and quiet- even in the desert.

dsc_0558

dsc_0581

dsc_0583

Fire pit outside our tents.

dsc_0605

Sand in my bed.

dsc_0524

Hooray desert! Thanks for the wonderful visit!

7 Responses to “The Desert”


  1. 1 Sharon Emerson May 17, 2009 at 4:16 am

    Lucy, these pics are extraordinary. Double wow.

  2. 2 Erin Eriksen May 17, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Um, I think you and the camel have similar smiles. It’s your goofy smile though–not your normal smile. Good thing too because would really test our friendship : )
    Looks like an amazing trip, buddy. Glad you did that!

  3. 3 photo444 May 17, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Great Story and Travelogue Photos

  4. 4 Kati M May 18, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    AMAZING!

  5. 5 jessica May 18, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    I adore the series of your face. I think it’s going on my refrigerator!!

  6. 6 Your Father May 19, 2009 at 3:11 am

    Thank you for sharing your experiences, Lucy. I’m so proud of your communication skills. I love you!

  7. 7 blindhorsetravel May 20, 2009 at 7:18 am

    Thanks for the comments guys! It’s great motivation to get me going on the posts that I’m so behind on. ❤ L


Leave a Reply

