hey thanks, universe

designmai

I’ve noticed that a lot of the cafes and bars here put out polar fleece blankets on the chairs, especially the ones with outdoor seating.  Isn’t that just thoughtful?

I catch myself in sweet moments with people here all the time, like, little kids holding the door for you like your entrance/exit is a big deal or the guy at the book shop excitedly recommending places in Berlin I should check for English books.   And when I was sick last weekend (again, wtf?!) my new room mate gave me advice on what would be good for my stomach and made me tea, plus when I came back to the studio on Monday everyone asked me how I was doing with such genuine concern.

To top it off I came home today to see a letter from my dear friend Katie, the first to arrive for me here in Berlin (!!!).  You know it’s been a lot of highs and lows but it’s hard to ever get too sad with nice things like these happening all the time.

439cd9c7187501d4beb0339f05156ee0ebd1d8b1_m

2 Responses to “hey thanks, universe”


  1. 1 suki March 9, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    Hi Lucy I am a friend of yr aunt s’s in ND. I mean I am living in NH but have known S since Mount Union college days and was one of the three who did “the book.” Sorry you were ill. I will have to read more of your entries to figure out why you are in Berlin though S might have told me. You are an inspiration!!! Take care. Suki


Leave a Reply

