Lurv is all around us

lurv

In case you’re wondering:

Lurve Meaning


from OHIO   Friday, February 04, 2005, 01:39 GMT

I found this word “lurve” on some forums on the net. What does it mean exactly?Is it British?

Thanks

Jim   Friday, February 04, 2005, 02:06 GMT

I guess it means “love” but just a nonstandard spelling.

..   Friday, February 04, 2005, 02:07 GMT

It is a curve in an otherwise flat surface that starts concave for 12% of its radius, then turns convex for the remainder.

I hope this helps.(BTW usually used when describing the way in which a penguin moves through the water when being chased by a leopard seal)

Jim   Friday, February 04, 2005, 02:49 GMT

That’s an incorrect definition of the wrong word.

..   Friday, February 04, 2005, 03:00 GMT

No, it is exactly right, I happen to be a penguin biologist.

Jim   Friday, February 04, 2005, 03:11 GMT
..,
I misread your post. It’s not an incorrect definition of the wrong word. It’s just an incorrect definition.
Here’s the correct defintion.

Definition
lurve [Show phonetics]
noun [U] UK NOT STANDARD HUMOROUS
love:
They spend every evening together – I think it might be lurve.

lurve [Show phonetics]
verb [T] UK NOT STANDARD HUMOROUS

http://www.dictionary.cambridge.org/define.asp?key=102533&dict=CALD

I guessed right. Let me make another guess: you’re no penguin biologist.

…   Friday, February 04, 2005, 03:19 GMT

I beg to differ, I am right this very moment, typing my reply to you from the Estonian Penguin Research Station in Antarctica. Count yourself lucky that I see fit to use our 10 dollar a minute satellite connection just to type my reply to you.

Your Cambridge dictionary is wrong, that is all I have to say. The only other option is that it neglected to include the standard meaning of the word ‘lurve’.

found here.

I wish I could play a game of Balderdash with these crazies.  Happy Valentines Day Everyone!

0 Responses to “Lurv is all around us”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

