Nell’Amore con un Paese

In Love with a Country

I leave for Seattle early Monday morning.  It’s Friday.  Italy and I both know it’s coming but we have our cappucino and cornetto like it’s any other day.

Italy and I have had an ongoing love affair for quite some time.  Sometimes Italy is like the love I know isn’t going to pan out; we keep taking each other back even though we’ve witnessed the long awkward pauses before responding to questions about our future together.  After a weekend in the country side I feel I would be content to give up on my career dreams to have a small house and a job waitressing in a small town just so Italy and I could be together.  Then something reminds me of why that can’t be, like Berlusconi and his suntan comment.  Ugh, sometimes I feel like I don’t even know you Italy.

I go to my parents for a while and hope that Italy wises up while I’m away.  My friends say you can’t change a country but I know deep down it’s such an amazing place, just a little stuck in the past, if only it would stop following every bit of advice from it’s friend Vatican City.

So I await the grand gesture which usually comes in the form of fate or gut instinct.  When all of a sudden everything in my life lines up again for me to go back to Italy; and really wasn’t I happier when we were together?  So what if Italy is a bit conventional, I don’t mind when a guy helps me with my luggage and often times I miss such rituals when I’m back with the states.  And sure England has more money and my Mom likes it more but that’s no reason to love a place.

And what about America, the one I grew up with?  Or France my first love, from when I was younger and wore my heart on my sleeve.  Plus there’s always other places in the sea, I mean I never went on that date with Japan and sure Germany was a bit callous on that first trip but maybe I just need to get to know it better.  Maybe finding love with a place isn’t one of those things you can force, some people say they tried for years then one day they realized it was right in front of them all along.  That place you spend the rest of your life with.

Part of me really thought Italy could be the one though, maybe I was fooling myself.  The other day while I was packing my bags and sipping some Chianti Classico one of our songs came on, Mina “Parole Parole Parole.” Oh Italy, how can I leave you? And sure we say we’ll get back together when the timing is better but everybody says that when they leave a country.

dscn0127Back in 2005, so young, so in love with Italy

dscn0801

photo-144My first day in San Giovanni Valdarno

dsc_0120

dsc_0528

dsc_0114

I suppose time will tell but I know I’ll always think back fondly on our time together.  Ciao per adesso il mio Amore.

6 Responses to “Nell’Amore con un Paese”


  1. 1 Amanda December 13, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    lovely. that is all i can say.

  2. 2 Amanda December 13, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    This is lovely my dear.

  3. 3 Sharon December 14, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Great writing Lucy.

  4. 4 Ramona December 17, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    nicely done. see you at christmas.

  5. 5 Ant Susan January 1, 2009 at 9:55 am

    i’m so glad we all get to read/see this high quality stuph on yr blog… ! xoxox S


  1. 1 Never Like This « On A Blind Horse Trackback on April 25, 2009 at 3:55 am

Leave a Reply

