Flora e Fauna

dsc_0032

Oh plants, they’ve always been so good to me.  Not only for making the air that I breathe cleaner and creating the food I eat but also because they remind me of the greater picture.  As some of you know when I was a little girl my favorite place was in a giant laurel tree, which I named Laura and referred to often as my best friend.  Every time I go back to Whidbey I see her, one year the neighbors over pruned her but in the last few times she’s still as full and glorious as ever.
I bought a plant here in San Giovanni, at the market more than a few Saturdays ago.  I know it’s a bit selfish since after four months I have to leave it but after Anna, Aneja, and Alex left it seemed essential to my stay here to have a constant.  Plants are really reliable friends.
Through all my travels they have given me joy and provided small reminders in their own way that I have friends everywhere.  So go let a plant bring you happiness and check out some of the ones I’ve met so far:

dsc_0362

Someone loves in Chianti loves Geraniums.  This especially reminded me of you EEE.

dsc_0021

Doorway in Rome

dsc_0152

A Sunday Breakfast

dsc_2399

SGV

dsc_2509

Flowers that were bigger than my head (and my head is quite large)

dsc_2423

A parting gift from Spain

dsc_2533

In a small town near the Balze a little vine on a big adventure

dsc_0511

Around San Giovanni, someones garden and a bag with a message (Defend Nature, Don’t throw out this bag, Reuse it)

dsc_0075

And last but not least the plant that happily lives in my room in SGV.

dsc_0062

3 Responses to “Flora e Fauna”


  1. 1 Ant Susan November 12, 2008 at 9:34 am

    What a gorgeous floor under your gorgeous plant!

    Loved the little vine dangling from the window!

    The cacti are also wonderful- but at first glance seeing their spines so near the naked made me involuntarily wince.. (OWW!)

  2. 2 Ramona November 12, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    hey lucy,

    thanks for the nice thoughts. it’s responses like that that make me realize that most people do not in fact suck. i like what you said apocalypse=all people sucking, and as we are hopefully moving further and further from the apocalypse now. I will be optimistic. your pictures are beautiful. i hope you are doing well. i saw that you were having a hard time a little while back, and i hope that has passed. i understand the feeling.

  3. 3 Erin November 25, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    I dig it, A lot.
    yay plants!
    I like the Defend Nature!!
    Nature Defenders!


Leave a Reply

