So Much Has Happened

I left Whidbey Island on the 19th of August and haven’t stopped yet. My Sister and I arrived in Barcelona on the 20th each with our own crazy travel stories to tell (more on those later) and I just got the wireless password for our apartment. There is quite a bit of catching up to do.

First of all, there is always a story to tell when traveling on a flight that lasts more than six hours and goes through countries where you don’t speak the language. I flew through Copenhagen.

Now I don’t know if any of you have the fantasy where you end up sitting next to your sole mate simply through fate putting you in 23C instead of 26A but I most certainly do; so much so, in fact, that I have troubles with changing/choosing my seat before my flight (what if I am missing my opportunity
simply for the window seat).

That said, when I saw a glimpse of the guy in the window seat that I would share the next 10 hours with I got excited that he was pretty good looking and about my age. Seat mates always looks better from far away
with extremely unreasonable expectations. Not only is this guy an awkwardly large 17-19 year old but he also doesn’t seem to speak much English. He cranked up his European Techno and I let go of my dream once again (by the way I have been right next to people that exchanged numbers after meeting each other on a plane and they seemed to make connections so it is possible).

Six hours later I slowly wake up to realize this guy and I are sort of spooning, as much as you can in airplane seats, and that he has just woken up also. The awkwardness was definitely there but the need for sleep overcame it and even though we both knew it was weird to be leaning in on a complete stranger we went back to bed. I slowly brought my head and shoulder back to my space and ordered a coffee but all in all it was a pretty funny experience.

Then I tried to get online in the Copenhagen airport and ended up taking pictures of myself at the gate instead (so many plants, at every gate).

1 Response to “So Much Has Happened”


  1. 1 Your Father September 7, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    RE: Spooning on the plane

    I have a treasured memory from a Greyhound bus ride across the northern USA in my teens. A beautiful woman just a year or two older than I spent the long night resting her head on my shoulder. I never knew her name, but she helped me feel good.

    Got to be careful, though. I hear spooning could lead to forking.


Leave a Reply

